



INDYSPOTTER CONTENTS



INDIANAPOLIS 500 CHAMPIONS COMPETING











2024 INDIANAPOLIS 500

108TH 500 MILE SWEEPSTAKES

Indianapolis Motor Speedway • May 26, 2024

EVENT INFORMATION

Distance: 200 Laps - 500 Miles • Track: 2.5 Mile Asphalt Oval, Turns 9°12'

2023 Winner: Josef Newgarden

IMS RADIO: 1070am, 107.5fm • scan: 455.8375, 454.000, 450.4125 • IMS PA: 450.1375, 455.1375 INDYCAR DIRECTOR: 464.175 • RACE CONTROL: 451.6875, 468.825, 457.2375 • TIMING & SCORING: 466.350

"BACK HOME AGAIN IN INDIANA"

Back home again in Indiana and it seems that I can see
The gleaming candle light still shining bright
Through the Sycamores for me
The new mown hay sends all its fragrance
From the fields I used to roam
When I dream about the moonlight on the Wabash
Then I long for my Indiana home

INDIANAPOLIS 500 FACTS & HISTORY

Four men have won the race four times: A.J. Foyt Jr. in 1961, 1964, 1967 and 1977; Al Unser Sr. in 1970, 1971, 1978 and 1987; Rick Mears in 1979, 1984, 1988 and 1991; Helio Castroneves in 2001, 2002, 2009 and 2021.

The youngest winner is Troy Ruttman. He was 22 years and 80 days old when he won in 1952.

The oldest winner is Al Unser Sr. He was 47 years and 360 days old when he won in 1987.

Race record time (200 laps/500 miles) - Tony Kanaan, May 26, 2013; 2 hr., 40 min., 3.4181 sec.; average speed was 187.433 mph.

Timeline: 1906 - The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is founded by Carl Fisher.

February 9, 1909 - The Indianapolis Motor Speedway track is built when 328 acres of farmland northwest of Downtown Indianapolis are purchased by Fisher and his partners Jim Allison, Frank Wheeler and Arthur Newby.

August 19, 1909 - The first automobile race takes place at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Twelve thousand are in attendance.

1911 - The first Indianapolis 500 takes place, with Ray Harroun winning in six hours, 42 minutes and eight seconds. The race is held annually since 1911, except for the war years 1917-18 and 1942-45.

1936 - Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Louis Meyer regularly drank buttermilk to refresh himself on a hot day and happened to drink some in Victory Lane as a matter of habit after winning the 1936 race. Tradition holds that winners of the race celebrate with a bottle of milk (with the exception of 1947-1955).

1945 - The track is sold to Anton Hulman Jr.

2019 - Hulman & Co. sells the track to Penske Entertainment Corp.

RETROSPECTIVE

